These are diary entries.
trash - 4:24 p.m. 11.01.2002
     God. I don't think I've been offended for somebody else in a really long time. Rather, felt the need to stick up for a stranger. Some people are just immense dicks.
     So, today, in Sather Gate, the opening of my campus, there was an elderly Asian man protesting. . . something. I mean, there's always protestors, but this guy; this guy had four walls of signs, all in Taiwanese and was surrounded by them, shouting, "Happy Happy Happy - Happy Happy Happy".

     So, yea. First time I walked by, I just kinda grinned and moved along. When I passed an hour later though, another man was on a box about six inches from the first man's face. Every time the first old man yelled "Happy Happy Happy", the second screamed, "You're an idiot!" or "We don't understand you." or "You're wasting all our time.". And I dunno; it kinda bothered me. After talking about it with a friend of mine, we decided to talk to him. I'd have done it myself, but only my friend spoke Taiwanese. So, while I stood right behind him, offering "moral support", he interupted the elderly man and asked him what the campaign was for. Though he didn't catch most of what was said, the man did seem happy that someone took a real interest. We planned on telling the rest of the crowd what the man was really saying, but didn't quite catch enough.
     Anyway, I was glad at least a few people caught what he was saying. I felt really bad he was being so tormented, and couldn't even retort.
---Danny

Prev || Next || Archive
DiaryLand
Song Of The Moment:

Game Of The Moment: