These are diary entries.
new friends - 9:23 p.m. 11.17.2002
     You know what?
     I am really quite alright. I mean, I think it took some mental restructuring, but I'm okay. Really.

     For a while, I was considering myself a little (very) low on friends and things to do at Berkeley. It really isn't true. There's a ton of people I talk to daily, who I could easily ask to join me in whatever I want to do. And I know that most of them would definitely say "yes". I think it's just, due to years of over-steadiness and hardcore solid friends, my definition of a friend was kinda skewed. There are people that are out there who I can be friends with. A prerequisite is NOT having known me for six years or more.

     It's funny. I have no problems meeting someone new and looking out for them and loving them. Yet, somehow, 'til now, no matter what, they stayed on the "acquaintances" list. For the most part, at least.

"Make new friends, but keep the old" brought to a level it was never meant to have.

     There are plenty of people here that I'm friends with. I just haven't known them long. That'll change. . . with time. There are people who I like and care about up here. Going out with them this week has lifted my spirits.
     A lot.

     This takes nothing away from every other friend I have at home; I love you all. And, yes, honestly, more so. But there are people up here for me as well.
     I'm really fine.
---Danny

Prev || Next || Archive
DiaryLand
Song Of The Moment:

Game Of The Moment: