These are diary entries.
S.A.B.s - 7:55 p.m. 07.06.2004
     I've been meaning to write about camp for about two weeks now, but haven't had the real chance. The writing was going to be about some funny stories.
     Our group trying to name themselves the Anti-French Movement or the Kool Kinneret Kampers (KKK). Or how one girl, getting a lice check, said of her curly hair: "My daddy says I got it from the Pool Man." (HA!). But, instead, I'm writing, um, this...

     My group absolutely rocks. I've got a group of six and seven year old boys at camp. I've got one co-councelor, Henry, and one CILT (like a councelor's aid), Megan.
     We make an elite fighting force, I think.

     Henry is amazingly good at the authoritarean role. It's something I really just don't do. He knows what rules to set down, and commands real respect with the campers. He's definitely the guy watching the time, planning ahead, and the like. I need him desperately. (Especially with our group.)

     Myself, I've found I'm really good at being like a playmate to the kids. They all hang all over me and really like me. But, more over, I think I'm the one who's really good at reading the kids; seeing when they're feeling bad and trying to solve it. I go more on-the-fly and work more socially with the kids. Not to say that I'm just playing, but that I lead them differently.

     Together, I think we're an awesome team. I whip the kids into a frenzy and get them into whatever activity we're doing. I keep them excited (or mellowed) as the case may be. Henry's really good at keeping the group together, and enforcing the rules, and making sure havok doesn't break out. I make the activities happen a lot, and he keeps us on track. I think we really need both of us.
     Escpecially with our group. Two trouble-makers, I'd say. Two more autistic children. It's a bit of a challenge. (And, well, why I have a group.)

     Megan is our CILT. Who, by the way, is leaving us Friday for good. Bummer! Megan does all the stuff that needs to be done, that me and Henry don't want to do. Potty runs, water runs, gets the lunches/juice-bars. She's a bit of our gopher, but I think she's really pivotal too. The kids really like her, so she can really keep them on track too. When we lead the group, she hangs out with kids that don't wanna participate. (With HenHen or me.) She's a really cool girl, and way needed with our group.
     We are such a family.

     It's funny. Some kids now, I can totally see how to deal with. One kid, J, always causes problems. But, moreover, he tends to get upset a lot. The thing with J, his first complaint is never the real concern. The real concern comes second. If he says he is injured, he's not. Something is bothering him. And usually, after just a little talk, I can see what it is. And then I switch the topic to that.
     Another kid, K, likes to "run away" when he has problems. I put "run away" in quotes because I cannot let him run away. So, I made him a deal. Kids are awesome for accepting deals like this. "Ok, K, you can run away if you feel really bad with the group. But, I can't let you go off on your own at camp. So, here's the deal. If you want to run away, you can. But only to the office. And you can stay there 'til you feel better." "Ok!"
     See, this isn't running away at all. It's "if you're being or having a problem, go to the office". We can keep playing. Cept, he sees it as "you can run away if you want". So, all is well. Little does he know, it's even the discipline office. Haha.

     Anyway, this concludes my writing for today. Marteney just came over for the second biggest part of my life.
     Final Fantasy.
---Danny

Prev || Next || Archive
DiaryLand
Song Of The Moment:
Rememem
Game Of The Moment:
FFXI