These are diary entries.
caspe... no, no - 12:21 p.m. 07.06.2005
�����So, I got some call from some lady a few nights ago. Apparently, someone refered her to me, as a website designer. (Something I haven't done for cash in a year plus.)
�����She has an emergency. She needs a site immediately by 10am the next morning. And I'm at work, and going out that night. But, she sounds like a sweet old lady with some project she really cares about, so I agree.

�����Apparently, she already had ads about to run in the LA Times, Washington Post, NY Times, Wall Street, etc. Seems like a bad idea to run ads before the product is done, but that isn't my call. I agree.
�����She already has a layout, she says, so no big deal, I figure. I just plug stuff in and upload. Except... her layout is done in Microsoft Word. So.... nevermind. Word is not a web format.

�����The site is super easy to build, and the lady thinks I'm golden for doing it. The layout isn't really much more than: "Center some things. Please use colors." As I'm building the site, I start to catch a few choice phrases. I hadn't asked what the site would be about, yet. "Jesus". "Peace". "War". "Ghosts".
�����Did that say ghosts? I finish the site, and shoot the lady an email.

�����I just built a site with two incredible things. One is a petition against War. Not a war, but War. War in general. We're signing a paper to end a broad social construct and out-of-our-hands political tool. We're going to need a bigger paper.
�����Also... letters from her dead husband. Not her live husband, like I misheard; her dead husband. Of a year now. (A year being dead, not a year being husband. Or a year of both a piece, which would make for a sticky and disgusting marriage.)
�����I hold my tongue. I'm all talk to friends and stuff (and here...), but I can't shoot down an old lady. I still have her Thank You voice mail(s).

�����I could not be more proud to have built this site. Given the massive amount of ad money spent on it, I so regret not putting a tracker on it. I had to resist linking back to myself.
�����I are such a good people.

http://www.maryhathspokane.com
---Danny
Prev || Next || Archive
DiaryLand
Song Of The Moment:
Billy Corgan - The CameraEye
Game Of The Moment:
Gradius V